Rights and Responsibilities

Protecting Your Interests After a Workplace Injury

Helpful Information from Experienced Texas Workers Compensation Lawyers

When you have been hurt on the job, you can be at a loss as to where to start. What benefits are available to you? What steps do you need to take and what shouldn’t you do? This page is designed to help you understand your rights and responsibilities when seeking benefits under the Texas workers’ compensation laws.

At the law offices of Bailey & Galyen, we have more than 50 years of combined experience working with people throughout Texas who have suffered an injury at work. We will carefully listen to all your questions and concerns, providing a full assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of your case, as well as your options and chances of success. We have successfully protected the rights of hundreds of workers, pursuing workers’ compensation claims against their employers and employers’ insurance companies.

Your Rights After a Workplace Injury

  • You are entitled to financial compensation to cover lost income, medical expenses and death or burial costs. You can receive benefits for most injuries sustained in the course and scope of employment.
  • You are entitled to medical treatment for as long as necessary, provided it treats a workplace injury or illness.
  • You have the right to legal counsel at any stage of a workers’ compensation claim, even if you have not filed an application for benefits.
  • You have some flexibility in choosing who will be your treating physician. If you are part of a workers’ compensation health care network, you can choose any doctor on the network’s list. If you are not in a network, you may choose any doctor.
  • You have a right to privacy and confidentiality in your claim. In general, information about a claim is only available to your employer, your employer’s insurance company and any other employer who is considering hiring you. Information cannot be disclosed to others without your permission.

What You Need to Do After Being Hurt at Work

  • You must report your work-related accident or illness within 30 days of injury or diagnosis.
  • You must determine whether you are in a workers’ compensation health care network. You can obtain this information by asking your employer. If you are but don’t know it and choose a doctor outside of the network, your claim can be denied.
  • You must advise your doctor of the circumstances of your injury, and must disclose whether your injury was work related.
  • You must provide current information regarding address, telephone and employment to the Texas Division of Workers’ Compensation, and to your employer’s insurance provider.
  • You must send a copy of completed claim form DWC-41 to the Division of Workers’ Compensation within one year of your injury or the diagnosis of your illness.
  • You must advise your employer’s insurance company and the Division of Workers’ Compensation of any changes in employment status or compensation.

Contact the Workers Compensation Attorneys at Bailey & Galyen

We are available by phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Send us an e-mail or call us at one of the numbers below to arrange a meeting. Your first consultation is without cost or obligation. Se habla Espanol.

We Offer quality legal services and representation to clients throughout Texas, including Arlington, Bedford, Dallas, Fort Worth, Grand Prairie, Irving, Plano, Weatherford, Mesquite, Houston, Clear Lake, TX.

Se habla Español

Call Our Nearest Office for Prompt HELP